Twitter Support announced on Monday that it is adding a new feature that will allow users on the web to crack down when it comes to online trolling.
It’s called “remove this follower” but users will know it as a soft block of sorts, which is a less intense “blocking” feature, according to CNET. Once it’s put into effect, it allows the user to be able to still direct message you, but they won’t see your tweets on their timeline. This is different from a hard block where users can’t see your tweets and are unable to send you DMs.
Users won’t be notified if they have been removed and are able to follow you again if they desire unless they are issued a hard block by you, CNET reports.
Twitter Support announced it was implementing the feature in September, but it didn’t roll out to everyone until Monday.
Twitter launched another anti-troll test called “safety mode” last month, according to The Guardian. When activated by a user, the feature will automatically block accounts sending abuse for seven days if the system catches them using “harmful language or sending repetitive, uninvited replies and mentions.”
In order to implement the new soft block feature, click the three-dot menu on a follower and hit the option “Remove this follower.”
In response to the Twitter announcement Monday, some replied with the ongoing request to add an “edit button” to the social media platform.
“Literally every platform has the ability to edit what they said or correct any mistakes, Twitter REALLY needs this!,” one user pointed out.
(this story/news/article has not been edited by PostX News staff and is published from a syndicated feed)